Five Epic Disasters

I Survived

by Lauren Tarshis
AR Test

At A Glance
Interest Level

Reading Level
Number of Pages

Five Epic Disasters brings five epic disasters to life through the eyes of young survivors. Blending an informational and story format, the series gives young readers a glimpse into historical disasters without scary details.  As Five Epic Disasters unfolds, readers learn about a tsunami, a tornado, a flood, the Titanic, and a blizzard. Each section begins with a story of a young person who survived the tragedy. The end of each section ends with facts and statistics about the disaster.

Because the author tells each story in a matter-of-fact tone, the stories are not frightening. The stories have plenty of pictures and illustrations to enhance each story. Each story is just a small glimpse into the disaster, which may spark the readers’ interest to read more about the events. The end of the book gives other titles about the same topics, so children can easily find additional material to add to their reading list.

Five Epic Disasters presents historical events in a simple, kid-friendly way that will spark readers’ interest and make them want to read more in the I Survived True Stories Series.

Sexual Content

  • None


  • Nature’s violence is shown, but there is no human violence.

Drugs and Alcohol

  • None


  • None


  • None

Spiritual Content

  • “Native Americans told stories of whirlwinds created by the Thunderbird, a powerful god who created swirling winds by flapping his gigantic wings.”


Other books by Lauren Tarshis
Other books you may enjoy

Latest Reviews